Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Pinal County Town Hall Focuses On Linking Transportation: Paving the Way to Economic Growth!

Pinal County Communications & Public Affairs
Pinal County Town Hall
For Immediate Release                              Contact: Maxine Brown (480) 322-1626
September 7, 2016

Pinal County Town Hall Focuses On Linking Transportation: Paving the Way to Economic Growth!

"Linking Transportation:  Paving the Way to Economic Growth" is the theme for the 29th Annual Pinal County Town Hall, Thursday October 6th.  Approximately 150 delegates are expected to attend the informative sessions being held at Robson Ranch located at 5750 N. Robson Blvd., Eloy, Arizona.

            Pinal County Town Hall's primary sponsor each year is the Pinal County Board of Supervisors.  Supervisor Anthony Smith, Dist. 4, represents the Board on the Pinal County Town Hall Advisory Committee.  The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from throughout Pinal County who meet monthly to work out details for the event.  During this year's Town Hall, Supervisor Todd House, Dist. 5, will discuss the Pinal Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) along with other elected officials on the Pinal RTA Panel.

            The overall goal of the sessions, according to Town Hall Director, Maxine Brown, is "to equip citizens with information and knowledge to understand how Pinal County transportation is funded, how to get involved in obtaining local projects, what is a Regional Transportation Authority (RTA), and how it all links with the economic health and growth of Pinal County.  We will hear from federal, state and local transportation officials, representatives from business, economic developers, and regional planners.  The Pinal County Town Hall believes delegates will be able to return to their community with a better understanding of local transportation and economic growth of the county." 

            Key note speakers are:  Mary Peters, former U.S. Secretary of Transportation (2006 - 2009) and Victor Mendez, Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation since 2014 (invited).

            Pinal County Town Hall's Wayne G. Gerken Youth Scholarship will be awarded during the event.  Town Hall offers students the opportunity to attend the event and participate in a round-table discussion to apply for the scholarship.  Town Hall Advisory Committee Vice-Chair, Donna McBride in discussing the youth component of the program, stated:  "Town Hall has provided a venue for young people to come together with local leaders.  Helping them learn about important issues such as issues related to transportation and economic growth will help create the next generation of leaders."

            Pinal County Town Hall Advisory Committee Chair, Sandie Smith, explained:  "I have attended all 28 Town Halls.  These events have been instrumental in bringing together diversified interests to focus on timely, relevant issues vital to Pinal County and its citizens.  This focus is then transformed into information taken back to local communities for a better understanding of the issue.  The networking and friendships formed at these Town Halls are invaluable for forming alliances that will help ensure Pinal County is a place where we can live, work, and play."

            For registration or sponsorship packets and/or additional information, please contact: Maxine Brown - Pinal County Town Hall - 480-322-1626 - m.leather@mchsi.com