Sunday, May 11, 2008

Character Counts Essay Contest Winners Announced

Pinal County Juvenile Court Community Advisory Board hosted a Character Counts Essay Contest for schools in Pinal County.  Winners were chosen based on their essays about one of the six pillars of character:  responsibility, citizenship, respect, fairness, caring and trustworthiness.

 The Community Advisory Board honored the winners in front of family and school personnel in a recent ceremony at the Pinal County Superior Courthouse in Florence with the Honorable Gilberto V. Figueroa as the guest speaker. Certificates and Character Counts pencils will be provided to all 820 participants.  2008 Winners included:

Division 1  (K-3 grades)

1st Place:                                                               Chloe Baxter - Peralta Trail Elementary School (Gold Canyon)

2nd Place:                                                               Aleksis Croci – Ironwood Elementary School (Casa Grande)

3rd Place:                                                               Jayne Juste – Blackwater Community School (Coolidge)

Honorable Mention:                                            Parker Schroder - Peralta Trail Elementary School (Gold Canyon)



Division 2  (4-6 grades)

1st Place:                                                               Esmeralda Tapia – Stanfield Elementary School (Stanfield)

2nd Place:                                                               Cory Gaskin - Walker Butte Elem. School (Queen Creek)

3rd Place:                                                               Alex Crisp – Peralta Trail Elementary School (Gold Canyon)

Honorable Mention:                                            Ashley Vargas – Mammoth Elementary School (San Manuel)



Division 3 (7-8 grades)

1st Place:                                                               David Vasquez – Eloy Jr. High School (Eloy)

2nd Place:                                                               Lamia Salazar – Eloy Jr. High School (Eloy)

3rd Place:                                                               Meghan Kuebler – Copper Basin K-8  School (Queen Creek)

Honorable Mention:                                            Jesse Rodriquez – Eloy Jr. High School (Arizona City)



Division 4 (9-12 grades)

1st Place:                                                               Angelika Higuera – San Manuel Jr./Sr. High  School (San Manuel)

2nd Place:                                                               Bedelia Bejarano – San Manuel Jr./Sr. High School (San Manuel)

3rd Place:                                                               Michael Johnson – San Manuel Jr./Sr. High School (San Manuel)

Honorable Mention:                                            Carolina Sharpe – San Manuel Jr./Sr. High School (San Manuel)